New federal law raises the minimum age of sale of tobacco products from 18 to 21 years of age.
- On December 20, 2019, the President signed legislation raising the federal minimum age of sale of tobacco products from 18 to 21 years of age.
- The FDA announced that, effective immediately, it is illegal to sell tobacco products to anyone under the age of 21.
- The FDA defines tobacco product as “any product made or derived from tobacco that is intended for human consumption, including any component, part, or accessory of a tobacco product,” and includes hookah, e-cigarettes (vapes), dissolvables, smokeless tobacco, cigarettes, all cigars, roll-your-own tobacco, pipe tobacco, and future tobacco products that meet the statutory definition of a tobacco product.
- The Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services is awaiting additional guidance from the FDA and federal Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration and will provide more information as it becomes available.
- Tobacco product retailers in Montana should comply with the federal law and discontinue tobacco product sales to those under the age of 21.
- Federal compliance checks will continue to occur with the new age set at 21.
- Free signage stating a person must be 21 years of age to purchase tobacco products is available from the Montana Department of Revenue. Tobacco retailers can order hard copies of the signage and have it shipped to them for free. Tobacco retailers can also download copies of the signage and print it themselves.
- For additional resources and the latest information on Tobacco 21 legislation, visit the FDA's Webpage.
Increasing the minimum age of sale from 18 to 21 will reduce tobacco use by delaying the age of initiation among young adults.
- Nearly 95% of people who smoke cigarettes started before they turned 21.
- Four out of five adult smokers become regular, daily smokers before they turn 21.
- A 2015 study out of the Institute of Medicine used mathematical modeling and found that Tobacco 21 has the potential to reduce initiation by 25%, leading to a 12% reduction in smoking.
- For more information, check out the Tobacco 21 Fact Sheet.
Need help quitting?
- Montana Tobacco Quit Line – For help quitting tobacco, including e-cigarettes, visit quitnowmontana.com or call 1-800-QUIT-NOW.
- Montana American Indian Commercial Tobacco Quit Line, visit MTAmericanIndianQuitLine.com or call 1-855-372-0055.
- Quit Now Montana Pregnancy Program available through quitnowmontana.com or call 1-800-QUIT-NOW and ask about Pregnancy Program.
- My Life, My Quit – Youth (anyone under the age of 18) who need help quitting tobacco, including e-cigarettes, can text “Start my Quit” to 1-855-891-9989 or visit mylifemyquit.com.
DPHHS Public Information Officer
All Other: firstname.lastname@example.org
To learn more about these topics, select the button to the left.
The DPHHS website is being redesigned and will be moved to a new platform in July.
Please be aware that some bookmarks to the DPHHS site may need to be updated after the move.
Thank you for your patience while we complete this move.
Program Goal Areas
Tobacco Control Partners
American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network
American Heart Association
American Lung Association
Americans for Nonsmokers Rights
Big Brothers and Big Sisters
Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids
Center of Disease Control
National Association of County & City Health Officials
National Jewish Medical and Research Center
National Native Network
Rocky Mountain Tribal Leaders Council
Tobacco News and Information
World Health Organization Framework Convention on Tobacco Control