Out of State Criminal History Background Checks

ARM 37.95.161 CHILD CARE FACILITIES: CRIMINAL FINGERPRINT AND BACKGROUND CHECKS REQUIREMENTS: (1) A fingerprint background check by the Montana Department of Justice and Federal Bureau of Investigation is required prior to working in a child care facility and every five years thereafter.

* All staff of any age and household members 18 years and older are required to complete FBI checks every 5 years.

Please be aware that the fingerprint process could take up to 6 weeks.

To avoid processing delays, please follow the steps below:

- 1. Have your fingerprints rolled at your local Child Care Resource and Referral (R&R) office or local Law Enforcement agency.
- 2. Ensure your original fingerprint card is completely filled out (see attached fingerprint card example)
- 3. Make a check or money order payable to Montana Criminal Records in the amount of \$30.
- 4. Mail FBI fingerprint card with your paperwork to the Child Care Licensing office in Helena:

DPHHS/QAD/CCL PO BOX 202953 HELENA, MT 59620-2953

FAX: 406-444-1742 EMAIL: childcarelicensing@mt.gov

Please note, if the card and paperwork was sent to DOJ it will be shredded.

How to Fill Out Fingerprint Cards

Child Care Licensing

APPLICANT			TYPE OR PRINT ALL INFORMATION IN BLACK LAST NAME NAME Doe Jane Margaret				
Jane Dee		Brown, Jan	The state of the s	MT025025y 01 01 1998			
1234 5 th Ave		Smith, Jane					
Helena, MT 59601		US VOCE NO OCA	F	whi 5.6	150 brw bln	Helena, MT	
6/15/17 Whitney Jehm				LEAVE BLANK			
DPHHS- QAD		ARMID FORCIS NO. M.	NU CLA	15		-	
NCPA/VCA		123-45-6	789	RIF			
Child Care Licensing		MISCELLANSOUS NO. &	abiu				
E. E. THUMB	7 1. mosts	3 f. MOOLE	/	E RANG		mi	
B.4. 19000	111 1111	8 L 4003		11.190	10.5.1	mu	
USFT FOUR FINGERS TAKEN SIMUL TAMEOUSLY		L THUMB	8 THUMB	BIGHT FOUR PRIGHES TAKEN SMALL TANKOUSLY			

^{*}Each fingerprint card should be examined to ascertain all information that is required on the fingerprint card has been provided and is legible. Incomplete cards will not be processed and will be mailed back. All fingers need to be in the correct position and rolled. To avoid delays, ask the requestor of the background check or call Montana Criminal Records at (406) 444-3625 for assistance.