

State of Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services QAD - Child Care Licensing

Hello,

Effective October 1, 2005, Montana child-care providers will be subject to a new law under the jurisdiction of the Montana Department of Justice. Dane's Law makes it a felony for any employee, owner, household member, volunteer or operator of a day care facility to administer medication— either prescription or non-prescription--to a child without the written consent of the child's parent. The law also prohibits the inappropriate administration of medications.

The law does provide an exception for certain medical emergencies when parental consent cannot be obtained. In such cases, a provider would have to obtain the written authorization from the child's physician, or be verbally directed to administer the medication from a medical practitioner, an emergency services provider, or a 911 responder.

The penalty for giving a child medication without parental consent can be up to 20 years in jail and up to a \$50,000 fine.

In anticipation of Dane's Law and the implementation of future day care rules pertaining to medication administration, The Child Care Licensing Program has developed sample documents for providers to use. Use of these documents is voluntary at this time. The documents include:

- Medication Authorization Form
- A Medication Administration Log (with instructions for use); and
- Medication Error/Incident Report

These forms are located at www.dphhs.mt.gov/earlychildhood and are not copyright protected; they can be downloaded and used "as is", or providers may modify the documents in accordance to their program. However, if a facility chooses to modify these forms, it is critical that the same basic information contained on the above documents is used.

If you are interested in obtaining a full copy of Dane's Law, you may do so by logging onto <a href="https://leg.mt.gov/bills/2005/billhtml/HB0068.htm">https://leg.mt.gov/bills/2005/billhtml/HB0068.htm</a>

Should you have questions or concerns about Dane's Law, or the medication administration documents, please contact your local child-care licensor.

Thank you.

### Sample Directions for Use of a Medication Log

- 1. The medication log is used to document that medication has been given to a child. Because this log is a legal document you must initial and sign each entry in ink.
- 2. Each medication given in the child care facility will need to have the following information written on the log:
  - Child's Name
  - Child Care Facility
  - Medication Name
  - Dosage—this must be the same as on the bottle and authorization form
  - Time the medication is to be given and time span for medication (e.g., days, weeks, months)
  - For Prescription medication--Name of person with Prescriptive Authority
  - Picture of the child if child is five years of age or younger
- 3. Have the log with you when you are giving any medication. Remember to check the information and compare it with the medication label before you give the medication to the child. Check to see if the medication has already been given to the child for that day and at that time by any other person.
- 4. It is preferable to assign one person to give all medications to the child for the day to avoid double dosing or missing a dose. Identify the child by name before giving the medication to the child and/or check the attached picture of the child.
- 5. Immediately after giving the medication, document:
  - Name and dosage of medication
  - Time the medication was given
  - Day and date the medication was given
  - Initials of the person administering the medication
- 6. If the medication is dropped on the floor, the child refuses to take the medication, spits out the medication, or any other unusual occurrence happens, make note (or designate NG for not given) in the Comment area and contact the parent.
- 7. If the child is absent from the facility, and are not in the Comment area enter an "A" for absent.
- 8. When the log is discontinued, write the date of discontinuation and arrange for the parent to pick up medication container, or dispose of any leftover medication.

# **Medication Administration Log**

#### Use One Sheet for Each Child

Name:					Birth date:		
Facility:		,					
	From:				[0:(End data)		
		(Sta	It uale (	Ji meu	ication)	(Ellu date)	
Parent:							
ork #:			_Paren	t Home	e #:		
th Prescrip	tive Authority:		<u>.</u>				
		(Name o	of healt	h care	provide	r prescribing the medic	cation)
<b>Aedication</b> :							
		Route:			T	imes:	
time medi	cation is to be	given.					
time mean							
Time	Commont	In it als	Date		Time	Commont	Initia
Time	Comment	mitials	Mm/d	ld/yy	Time	Comment	S
-+							
	Parent: ork #: th Prescrip <b>/ledication</b> :	F Parent: ork #: th Prescriptive Authority:	From:(Sta Parent:	From:	From:	From:	From:To:TO:

Signature	Initials	Date

- If the child is absent, (designate with an "A") or if for any reason, the medication is not given, (designate with "NG") indicate in the "comment" column.
- If NG, document the reason for not giving medication in the "comment" column 01/11/2017

## Medication Error Incident Report

Child:	Date of Birth:
Child Care Facility:	Classroom:
Medications:	
Time Medication to be administered:	
Date of Incident:	
Reason for Report: Missed medication, wrong me how incident happened:	edication, etc. Give a detailed report as to
Action Taken/Intervention:	
Describe how this incident could be avoided in the	
Name of parent/guardian who was notified:	
Time/date of notification:	
Printed name of person preparing report:	
Signature of person preparing report:	
Follow up contact/care:	
Child Care Facility Director/Administrator signatu	ire:

# Medication Authorization Form

These forms are for your use. Do not return them with your application. *Keep in the child's file whe	n medication is finished.
To be completed by Parent	
Child's Name	Date of Birth//
Child's Name Program Name	_Today's Date//
	***************************************
To administer a prescription medication: The medication must be in its original container, with a locible label from the	a phormony indicating the shild's
The medication must be in its original container, with a legible label from the name, date, name of medicine, dosage, and time, number of days medication	
medication, doctor's/nurse practitioners name, pharmacy name and telephon	
<ul> <li>Samples must be accompanied by a doctor's written prescription</li> </ul>	
• Medications are to be given only to the child indicated on the label (twin	ns and siblings cannot share.)
• A separate authorization is required for <i>each medication</i> and <i>each episod</i>	-
• Label constitutes the physicians/nurse practitioner's order	
• Parent/Guardian is to give as many doses as possible at home.	
Medication:	
Reason for medication:      Start date      //      End date	
Start date//_       End date//_         Dosage:       Times to be given at child care is:A	AM PM
First dose was given atAM/PM on date// (Medication Log for each day.)	
Route: by mouth, skin (location), eye (R/L)	
Possible side effects:	
Special handling/storage Instructions	Refrigeration Y/N
Parent/Guardian Signature (required)	
Physician/Nurse Practitioners Signature	
***************************************	*******
Non-Prescription Medication:	
• Parent is required to bring these medications from home.	
Medication must be in an original container, with child's name on the con Medication:Health Care Provid	
"For children under 2, list the name of the health care provider who recon	
Reason for medication:	
Start date//         End date//	
Dosage: Times to be given at child care:A	AMPM
Medication Log needs to reflect Parent's first dose for each day)First dose was given atAM/PM on date//	
Route: by mouth, skin (location), eye (R/L)	
Possible side effects:	
Special handling/storage Instructions	Refrigeration Y/N
Or discarded appropriately Y/N Method <u>Unused</u> medication: returned to Parent/Guardian Signature (required)	nt Y/N Date//
By: Date/	<u> </u>

#### NON-INGESTIBLE Over the Counter OTC) Medication Authorization form (For your use/records)

<b>CI</b> 11	TO BE COMPLETED BY PAR		1 1
Child Drog	d's Name	Date of Birth Today's Data	//
riogi		100ay \$ Date	//
****	*********************	*****	******
-	e permission for the administration of following non-ingestible ov	ver the counter medications	(mark all that
apply	y):		
4	Diaper Rash Cream/Ointments		
۱	Insect Repellent		
Δ	Sunscreen		
Δ	Cortisone/Anti-Itch Creams/Ointments		
Δ	Medicated Lip Treatments		
1	OTC Antibiotic Creams/Ointments		
1	Burn Creams/Sprays		
4	Other Non-Ingestible OTC's: (Please Specify)		
	Δ		
	Δ		
	Δ		
fo ad	dminister a non-ingestible over the counter (OTC) medication:		
•	The OTC medication must be brought to the day care facility from		
•	The OTC medication must be in its original container, with a legi	ble label, and expiration date	of medication;
	The child's name must be on the original container		
Speci	al handling/storage Instructions	R	efrigeration Y/N
Parei	nt/Guardian Signature (required)		
his d	locument must be updated on an annual basis.		
Unus	sed Medication: Returned to Parent Y/N or	Discarded Appropriately	(Circle one)
			Unc)