

HB 872 Commission Meeting September 08, 2023 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.



State Capitol Room 152 and Zoom

Agenda

9:00 a.m. Call to Order and Roll Call – Chairman

9:10 a.m. Commission Priorities – Chairman

9:30 a.m. Alternative Settings Project – Guidehouse

9:45 a.m. Synopsis of Comments and Proposals (via RFIs) – DPHHS

10:15 a.m. Public Comment* on HB 872

10:45 a.m. Break

11:00 a.m. Civil and Forensic Commitments: An Overview of the Current Landscape, Legal

Process, and Challenges - Chad Parker, Deputy Chief Legal Council, DPHHS; Dr.

Daniel Bemporad, FMHF

11:30 p.m. Break for Lunch

12:30 p.m. **Panel # 1 – Judicial**

Honorable Elizabeth Best, Cascade County

Honorable Kaydee Snipes-Ruiz, Chouteau, Hill and Liberty Counties

Honorable Andy Breuner, Gallatin County

Honorable Matthew Cuffe, Lincoln County

1:30 p.m. **Panel # 2 – County Attorneys**

Matt Jennings, Missoula County

Josh Racki, Cascade County

Brett Irigoin, Dawson County

2:30 p.m. Break

2:45 p.m. **Panel # 3 – Sheriffs**

Brian Heino, Flathead County

Brad Bichler, Park County

Sam Bofto, Yellowstone County

3:45 p.m. Panel # 4 – Jail Commanders

Nic Eisele, Fallon County

Jennifer Root, Flathead County

Johnnie Spurlock, Broadwater County

Bradley Bragg, Lewis and Clark County

4:45 p.m. Family Member Testimony (Beth Ann Rivers)

5:00 p.m. BHSFG Contract - Alvarez and Marsal

5:15 p.m. Montana State Hospital Update – DPHHS/ Alvarez and Marsal

5:30 p.m. Commission Discussion

6:00 p.m. Meeting Ends

Please note:

- All agenda times are tentative. Some items may take more or less time than scheduled.
- To accommodate all who wish to testify, public comment is limited to 3 minutes for each person. Comment time may be further restricted by the presiding officer. *
- The commission pauses for meals and breaks at the discretion of the presiding officer.
- The commission may change meeting dates and/or times and add meeting days. <u>Sign up</u> to receive email updates or check the commission's website <u>Commission (mt.gov)</u> for up-todate information.
- To register for public comment or provide written public comment please email to Brett Carter at brett.carter2@mt.gov.