PHHS-DDP-200 STATE OF MONTANA AGENCY CODE: 6901

{Rev 04/98) DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
REQUEST FOR CLARIFICATION/INTERPRETATION
- - Name and Title: - = Narme and Title:
8 Jannis Conselyea %
OCrganizational Unit E Organizational Uit

DDP Program Support Bureau Chief

Address Address:

111 Sanders, Helena, Mt

1. TYPE OF REQUEST: O Follow-up to Verbal Request - Date of Verbal Request: LIX written Request

2. STATEMENT OF QUESTION OR ISSUE: Case Managers are required to complete 20 hours of
advanced training annually. They are also required as a newly hired employee to complete basic
training requirements. Please clarify what is considered basic training as a newly hired employee and

what is considered advanced training.
References:

Answer. New Adult Services Case Managers must review the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) training for Case
Managers on Home and Community-based Services and Waiver assurances. In addition they must complete Personal
Support Planning (PSP), Montana Resource Allocation Protocol training (MONA), recertified annually. Individual Cost Plan
training (ICP). Abuse Prevention, annually thereafter. Health Insurance Protection Accountability Act (HIPAA). These training
requirements are considered to be basic requirements in order to fulfill Case Management duties. For new hires,
participation and completion of these basic requirements will fulfili the 20 hours of Advanced training for the first year of
employment with the Developmental Disabilities Program. After the first year of employment the Contracted Case Manager
Supervisor will determine what training will fulfill the Advanced 20 hours of training requirement for all Contracted Case
Managers set forth by the Developmental Disabilities Program in contract and rule. For all State staff, the Case Manager
training will need to be approved by Central Office Management. Advanced training is not any training that is listed above
and is considered by the Developmental Disabilities Program to be basic training requirements. Advanced training is to be
recorded and approved by written signature for each Case Manager and filed in the Case Manager's personnel file.

Children’s Services Case Managers who provide Waiver Services are required to have basic training from State Staff on the
Individual Family Service Plan (IFSP), Mini-MONA, Montana Resource Allocation Protocol (MONA) (for children over the age
of 16) Individual Cost Plan training (ICP), and the Health Insurance Protection Accountability Act {HIPAA). Children's Waiver
Services Case Managers must review the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) training for Case Managers on Home
and Community-based Services and Waiver Assurances. All training documentation must be approved by the Case
Manager’s supervisor, recorded and filed for reference. Additional training required for Family Support Specialist
Certification is not covered in this clarification.
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