Youth Group Home and Youth Shelter Care Packet
Youth Group Home is a licensed facility in which substitute care is provided to youth under the age of 18 years with the exception of youth participating in Montana Medicaid Programs. These youth can be served up to the age of 21 years. A Youth Group Home is a regular group home that does not provide a therapeutic level of care.
Youth Shelter Care Facility is a licensed facility in which substitute care is provided to youth under the age of 18 years. The Shelter Care facility is a youth care facility which regularly receives children under temporary conditions until the court, probation office, the department or other appropriate social agency has made other provisions for care.
A Youth Group Home and Youth Shelter Care are required to have an initial and annual licensing survey. The surveys are completed prior to the initial license being issued and prior to the expiration date of the previous license. A facility may be licensed as both a Youth Group Home and Youth Shelter Care. The Administrative Rules of Montana are the same for both facility types. Youth Group Homes and Youth Shelter Cares are the only Youth Care Facility programs that may be dually licensed.
- Application for New Licensure and Renewal of Expiring License
- Staff Roster Application Supplement form for New licensure and Renewal
- Personal Statement of Health for Licensure for Youth Care Facilities
Statutes and Rules that apply to Youth Group Homes and Youth Shelter Cares:
Statutes: (Montana Code Annotated-M.C.A.)
- 41-3-201 through 41-3-203 M.C.A. Mandatory Report of Child Abuse and/or Neglect
- 52-2-Part 6 Youth Residential Services
Rules: (Adminstrative Rules of Montana - ARM)
- 37.97.101 through 37-97.190 All Youth Care Facilities
Survey Tools, Forms and Guidelines:
New survey tools are in the process of being developed. Please check back frequently for updates.
Background Check Forms:
- Release of Information for Background Check: DPHHS-QAD/ CRL-018 (Rev 5/10)
- Tribal background checks, please contact the appropriate Tribal Court.
For additional information e-mail Julie Fink or call her at 406-563-3448 ext 222.