DPHHS Home       About Us       Contact Us       News & Events       Programs & Services       Health Data & Statistics

A - Z Index

Montana Cardiovascular Disease and Diabetes Prevention Program

Program Description

The prevention program began in January 2008 with the goal to prevent type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular disease among Montanans who are at high risk. This project is coordinated by the MDP using funds allocated by the 2007 State Legislature. Continued funding was granted during the 2009 and 2011 legislative sessions. The program is a translation of the highly successful NIH sponsored Diabetes Prevention Program, that reported a 58% reduction in the incidence of diabetes among participants who were enrolled in a lifestyle change intervention.

In the DPP, participants with pre-diabetes were randomized into three groups: lifestyle intervention, metformin, or placebo. Participants in the intensive lifestyle intervention take part in a 16 session individual lifestyle change program followed by monthly contact for six months. The curriculum focuses on diet, exercise and behavior change while working towards the goals of 7% weight loss and 150 minutes/week of physical activity. In Montana, groups of participants attend the same 16 week curriculum that was used in the DPP, as well as a six monthly follow-up classes while working to achieve the same weight loss and physical activity goals as the DPP.

The original four sites have been enrolling participants since January 2008. The results of the first round on of the progam have been published in the March/April 2009 edition of The Diabetes Educator, as well as presented and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Division of Diabetes Translation Conference 2009 and 2011 the American Diabetes Association 2009 and 2011 Scientific Sessions.

If you are interested in more information about the MT Cardiovascular Disease and Diabetes Prevention Program  check out our website www.mtprevention.org.

Four additional sites were added in 2009, 6 additional sites were added in 2011, and 1 additional site was added in 2012. The program has been delivered to six telehealth sites as well.

Locations

If you are located in one of these areas and would like more information about your local prevention program contact:

Billings

St. Vincent Healthcare
Beverly McHugh @ (406) 237-8599 or bmchugh@svh-mt.org

Billings Clinic Foundation
Lisa Ranes @ (406) 238-2205 or lranes@billingsclinic.org

Bozeman

Bozeman-Deaconess Hospital
Arlene Eliason @ (406) 556-5331 or aeliason@bdh-boz.com

Lindsay Kordick @ (406) 522-4600 or lkordick@bdh-boz.com

Butte

Butte Diabetes Network
Ida Reighard @ (406) 723-2960 or ida.reighard@sjh-mt.org

Choteau

Teton Medical Center
Heather Hodgskiss @ (406) 466-6051 or hhodg@tetonmedicalcenter.net

Cathy Sesions @ (406) 466-6004 or csessions@tetonmedicalcenter.net

Dillon

Barrett Hospital and Healthcare
Deanna Nelson @ (406) 683-3170 or dnelson@barretthospital.org
Jill Pulaski @ (406) 683-3041 or jpulaski@barretthospital.org

Great Falls

Benefis Health System
Susan Garnic @(406) 455-5516 or susangarnic@benifis.org

Helena

St. Peters Hospital
Yvonne Tapper-Gardizna @(406) 444-2386 or ytapper-gardzina@stpetes.org

Kalispell

Kalispell Regional Medical Center
Leslie Coates @ (406) 751-6707 or lcoat@krmc.org

Libby

St. John's Lutheran Hospital
Becky Brundin @ (406) 293-0175 or becky@sjlh.com

Matt Larsen @ (406) 293-0124 or mlars@sjlh.com

Miles City

Holy Rosary Healthcare
Liane Vadheim @ (406) 853-2934 or liane.vadheim@hrh-mt.org

Carla McPherson @ (406) 233-4067 or carla.mcpherson@hrh-mt.org

Missoula

Community Medical Center
Shirley Schneiter @ (406) 327-4326 or sschneiter@communitymed.org

Marge Samsoe @ (406) 728-4100 or msamsoe@communitymed.org

Missoula City/County Health Department
Mary Pittaway @ (406) 258-4837 or mpittaway@co.missoula.mt.us

Heather Sauro @ (406) 258-4935 or hsauro@co.missoula.mt.us

St. Patrick Hospital
Jennifer Troupe @ (406) 329-5781 or jtroupe@saintpatrick.org

Sara Engberg @ (406) 329-2602 or sengberg@saintpatrick.org

Polson

Providence St. Joseph Medical Center
Wanda Wildenberg @406-883-8454 or wwildenber@stjoes.org

Program Results

Data from the classes held in 2008 through 2011 demonstrates:

  • 2,724 participants have completed the 16 week program
  • Average weight loss was 12lbs
  • 34% of program participants met the DPP weight loss goal (7% of their starting weight).
  • 54% of program participants lost met the physical activity goal
  • Improvements seen in blood glucose, blood pressure, LDL, triglycerides and total cholesterol.

Diabetes Links

To access more information related to type 2 diabetes risk factors and prevention visit one of the following web sites:

For more information contact Diane Arave at (406)444-0593 or darave2@mt.gov

**In November 2008, Montana Cardiovascular Disease and Diabetes Prevention Program staff received the Governor's Award for Excellence in Achievement. **