DPHHS Home       About Us       Contact Us       News & Events       Programs & Services       Health Data & Statistics

A - Z Index

NEWS Improving and Protecting the Health, Well-Being
and Self-Reliance of All Montanans.

May 21, 2013


Jon Ebelt, Public Information Officer, DPHHS, (406) 444-0936
Chuck Council, Communications Specialist, DPHHS, (406) 444-4391

Montana Cancer Control Coalition honors Billings resident with Bette Bohlinger Leadership Award

Sarah Porter-Osen, National Cancer Institute Community Cancer Programs Coordinator with the Billings Clinic, is the 2013 Bette Bohlinger Leadership Award recipient.

Porter-Osen will be presented with the award Wednesday, May 22 at the Montana Cancer Control Coalition (MTCCC) Statewide Meeting held at the Red Lion Colonial Hotel in Helena at 11:30 a.m.
Porter-Osen has been involved with the Montana Cancer Control Coalition’s Screening and Early Detection Team since 2007. She is a strong advocate and champion for ensuring low income women are screened for breast and cervical cancer through her work at Billings Clinic. She has also led the effort to expand these cancer services into Miles City, Hardin, Harlowton and Red Lodge.

“Every year, a new Montana hero is honored who has given so much to reduce the burden of cancer in our state,” said Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS) Director Richard Opper. “Sarah’s inspiring work certainly falls into that category. She is truly making an amazing impact in this state.”

Porter-Osen also led the Early Detection Team in the implementation of the successful “Ask Me” Campaign statewide to encourage people to get screened for colorectal cancer. “Sarah is an active participant, a great leader, a person who follows through on actions to accomplish a goal and much more to improve cancer services in the state of Montana,” said Jo Duscziewicz, Director of Cancer and GI Services at Billings Clinic.

Porter-Osen joins previous recipients Diana Reetz Stacey in 2012, Cheryl Hackett in 2011, Dr. Thomas Purcell in 2010, Betsy Smith in 2009, Sue Warren in 2008, Rita McDonald in 2007, and Dr. Barbara Lloyd in 2006.

Bette Bohlinger died of acute myeloid leukemia in 2006 and following her passing the MTCCC created the award to honor an exceptional individual or organization that encourages, inspires, and leads others within the group.

The MTCCC coalition, in partnership with DPHHS, was created in 2003 to educate Montana residents about cancer prevention. The group is comprised over 200 state health advocates and organizations with the common mission to reduce the overall burden of cancer for Montanans.

Page last updated 05/21/2013